Important Town Meeting

The September 24 Town Meeting has been called to discuss and vote on a proposed town ordinance:  On its face, some people might say that this proposal will make the Town more accountable and provide taxpayers with a greater voice.  The fact of the matter is that the proposed ordinance can make it more difficult for the Town to conduct its normal business.

Enacting this law would add additional concerns to the day-to-day operations of the Town and could make doing ordinary business more difficult and cumbersome.
It is much more efficient for the town to elect officials who the voters believe will properly manage the Town’s real property holdings rather than to enact a law that requires those officials to take the time to go through the process of giving notice and holding a Town meeting whenever the Town wants to engage in any transaction that involves land or buildings.

It is important to recognize that Town meetings are typically not well attended so it would only take a few people to pack a Town Meeting and exert their control over decision-making.

So for all of these reasons we are asking you to attend the Town Meeting at 7:00 PM on September 24, 2014 at the Samuel Staples Elementary School.
Please come to the meeting, bring your friends and let’s all vote AGAINST this ordinance.

            Sincerely yours,
Wendy Bowditch, Easton Republican Town Committee Chair
Jim Riling, former Easton Republican Town Committee, Chair
Adam Halberg, Easton Democratic Town Committee Chair
Bob Schrage. former Easton Democratic Town Committee, Chair

“Connecticut Comeback” Party

The Redding Republican Town Committee will host “A Connecticut Comeback” party on Saturday, September 29th from 5-7 PM at the Redding Country Club.

The marquee guest list features State Senator Toni Boucher and State Representatives Will Duff and Adam Dunsby, Also invited and expected to attend will be our Republican candidates for statewide and federal offices in this November’s election, including Bob Stefanowski, for Governor; Joe Markley, Lt. Governor; Sue Hatfield, Attorney General; Susan Chapman, Secretary of State;  Thad Gray, Treasurer and Kurt Miller, Comptroller; Matt Corey, U.S. Senate; and Harry Arora, U.S. Congress, 4th District.
Michael Thompson, Redding RTC Chair, said, “We are holding this event as an opportunity for townspeople to meet with and support our great slate of candidates for both state and federal offices in this November’s election. As a team they will provide the leadership we need to revitalize our state into a place, once again, where families and businesses can prosper! We hope many of you will attend.

The event will feature an open bar, delectable hors d’oeuvres and our famous silent (and not so silent) auction featuring tickets to  sporting events, dinners at marvelous restaurants, golf outings, gourmet wines and much, much more.

Suggested contribution to attend is $100 per person (including two hour open bar). Proceeds will go toward supportingthe  Republican candidates for a “Connecticut Comeback” in this November’s election.

Please RSVP and contribute by credit card on our secure online response form or by check to Linda Eike, 99 Cross Highway, Redding, CT 06896. If paying by mail, please complete and return the attached state required contribution form along with your check. For questions, contact Linda at 203-938-0666 leik@optonline.net.

Huge Neighborhood Tag Sale

  • 4 separate houses on a quiet cul-de-sac street
  • A great activity for the whole family
  • Lots of items priced ONLY $1
  • Some “FREE” stuff too!
  • Drop by early!

Location: Long Wall Road in Redding, Connecticut
(off Newtown Turnpike in between Sanfordtown Road & Giles Hill Road)

Date:        September 22, 2018 (Saturday)
Time:        9:00 A.M. to 3:00 P.M. (rain or shine)

Items for Sale:     household items, decorative pieces, collectibles, antiques, clothing, shoes, furniture, rugs, lawn & garden items, electronics & computer games, toys, pet stuff, books, vacuums, Halloween & Christmas items, fishing gear, and much more…

Payment:          CASH,   PayPal  &   Venmo accepted